Mother’s Day

This week, Mother’s Day is coming up. In that case, I would like to dedicate this to my mother and all the beautiful women out there that have played a role in someone’s life.

Growing up, I always loved my mother. What would have happened if she had left? What would I have been like if she wasn’t there to support me? I would have been lost. Many times, I find myself sneakingly cursing at my mother when she infuriates me. She yells, “CARLA VALDEZ”. Although morally I know it’s wrong , in the end I still love her for some reason. It’s not clear to me exactly why I do those type of things, and I’m pretty sure for other children it is the same instinct.

Anyways, the message here is that you should always appreciate the woman that has had an impact on you in a positive way. She is the type of woman the enabled you to move on past what you don’t believe you can do. This woman is the one who brought life to you both mentally or physically. I get it , sometimes she may be a pain in the butt, but you have to recognize, she’s sacrificing her time and luxury for you. If she’s doing that, I know she loves you deeply. She may not always be perfect or just think the same way you do, but that’s a perfect opportunity to learn from her. Let’s get real: she is annoying, but you know you still respect her.

So, however my day goes with my mother, I still love her, and I wrote this poem for her:

 

Her skin glowing like cinnamon on a cinnamon roll.

Her hair like a cascading waterfall with a few waves to break the calm current.

Her smile as bright and warm as the sunshine in summer.

Her scars like the cracks on a table that are visible, but not too deep to break.

Her eyes as sweet as the chocolate chips in the cookies she made me for my birthday.

Her wrinkles as new as the first crease on a new pair of shoes.

Day by day, she’s getting older.

 

Her hands like the strong branches on a Banyan tree.

Her back as straight as the veins on a leaf.

Her dark circles like the other unrecognizable side of a half moon.

Her dimples as deep as the craters on the moon.

Her curves as smooth as the highest part of a roller coaster.

Her heart as big as the galaxy.

Day by day, she’s getting older.

 

She is the foundation of my past, present, and future.

She is the love I will carry on forever without a doubt.

Always present in my needs,

one day I wish to help her when everything falls apart.

With every broken back, aching legs, and disabilities starting from her heart,

I will try to make everything better even when it is the pain I want to discard.

Day by day, she’s getting older with each day as a brand new start.